The Super Friends

The Super Friends

The Super Friends



Alternate name:
The Super Friends 1981


E. Nelson Bridwell

DC Comics, Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Superhero


The team started as Superman, Wonder Woman, Batman and Robin, Aquaman, Wendy, Marvin and Wonder Dog. There was a storyline in issue 7 which lasted 3 issues where the Wonder Twins (Zan, Jayna, Gleek) came to Earth to warn Earths heroes of an impending threat by the name of Grax. This storyline included the entire Justice League and the Global Guardians. At the end of the story (Issue 9) Wendy and Marvin had captured Grax and The Super Friends said that they completed their training and were ready to become full fledged super heroes. Both kids said they were going to college and Zan and Jayna asked if the Super Friends would train them and they agreed. Many issues had morals for the Wonder Twins to learn. Issue 10 showed us that an old friend of Superman and Batman, Professor Carter Nicholls agreed to be the Guardian of Zan and Jayna and he came up with alter egos and a European Country that they came from. Also we met a group of alien heroes who tracked a beautiful woman to earth. The twins learned a valuable lesson that the monsters were the heroes and the beauty was the evil one.